Soho Playhouse Theater

View Larger Map
Soho Theatre is a theatre in the eponymous Soho district of the City of Westminster. It presents new works of theatre, together with comedy and cabaret.
The theatre is also home to a Writers' Centre, which provides support to new writers, aimed at developing writers to work in theatre as well as film, TV and radio. The Centre accepts unsolicited scripts sent by budding writers.
The theatre has stand-up comedy, cabaret, and performance programmes. Soho Playhouse Theater often features newer comedians of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, as well as established comedians such as Eddie Izzard, Ricky Gervais and Russell Brand working on new material.

The Soho Theatre Company was formed in 1969 by Verity Bargate and Fred Proud, and initially performed at a venue in Old Compton Street. Soon, the company moved to the Soho Poly, where it would remain for eighteen years.
In 1990, the Soho Theatre Company entered a brief migrational period, where it visited the venues of the Royal Court, Riverside Studios and the ICA. Falling into a slow decline, the company was revitalised when it took up residence at the Cockpit Theatre of Marylebone, from 1993-95. During this "renaissance", they expanded their now famous Writers' Development programme, and premiered the works of over 35 new writers.
The building in Dean Street opened in 2000, with a 140 seat auditorium and an 85/100 seat studio plus a small performance bar overlooking the street and Soho Theatre Bar, which occupies the ground and lower ground floors, and serves food and drink from early until late.
Soho Playhouse Theater current artistic director is Steve Marmion, and its Executive Director is Mark Godfrey.

Soho Poly period:
Sue Townsend
Hanif Kureishi
Timberlake Wertenbaker
Tony Marchant
Pam Gems
Barrie Keeffe
Brian Clarke
David Edgar
Mary O'Malley
Colin Spencer