Shubert Theater

The Shubert Theatre is a Broadway theatre located at 225 West 44th Street in midtown-Manhattan, New York, United States.

View Larger Map
Designed by architect Henry Beaumont Herts, it was named after Sam S. Shubert, the second oldest of the three brothers of the theatrical producing family. It shares a Venetian Renaissance facade with the adjoining Booth Theatre, which was constructed at the same time, although the two have distinctly different interiors. The two theatres are connected by a private road/sidewalk, "Shubert Alley". Shubert Theater opened on 21 October 1913 with a series of Shakespearean plays, including Othello, Hamlet, and The Merchant of Venice, staged by the Forbes-Robertson Repertory Company.
The theatre's longest tenant was A Chorus Line, which ran for 6,137 performances from 25 July 1975 to 28 April 1990 and set the record for longest running show in Broadway history.
The top floor of the Shubert Theater building houses the offices of the Shubert Organization. The Shubert Theater theatre's auditorium and murals were restored in 1996. Shubert Theater has been designated a New York City landmark.

In the 2005 film version of Mel Brooks's The Producers, the musicals Funny Boy, Springtime for Hitler, and Prisoners of Love are all staged at the Shubert Theatre by Max Bialystock and Leo Bloom.

Famous past Shubert Theater productions
1914: To-Night's the Night
1917: Love o' Mike with Clifton Webb as Alonzo Bird .
1917: Maytime
1933: Gay Divorce
1934: Dodsworth
1936: Idiot's Delight
1937: Babes in Arms
1939: The Philadelphia Story
1941: Pal Joey
1942: By Jupiter
1944: Bloomer Girl
1947: High Button Shoes
1950: Kiss Me, Kate
1951: Paint Your Wagon
1953: Can-Can
1956: Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter?; The Pajama Game; Bells Are Ringing
1961: Bye Bye Birdie
1962: I Can Get It for You Wholesale; Stop the World - I Want to Get Off
1963: Here's Love
1964: Oliver!
1965: The Roar of the Greasepaint - The Smell of the Crowd
1966: Wait Until Dark; The Apple Tree
1968: Golden Rainbow; Promises, Promises
1972: The Creation of the World and Other Business
1973: A Little Night Music; The Sunshine Boys
1974: Over Here!
1975: Seascape
1975: A Chorus Line
1979: Annie
1990: Buddy - The Buddy Holly Story
1992: Crazy for You
1996: Big
1996: Chicago
2003: Gypsy
2005: Spamalot
2009: Blithe Spirit; Memphis