Lyceum Theater

The Lyceum Theatre Broadway theatre located at 149 West 45th Street in midtown-Manhattan.

View Larger Map
Lyceum Theater has the distinction of being the oldest surviving Broadway venue (along with the New Amsterdam Theatre), the oldest continuously operating legitimate theatre in New York City, and the first Broadway theatre ever to be granted landmark status (1974). It is one of the few theatres in New York to operate under its original name.
Designed by architects Herts & Tallant, the Lyceum Theater was built by impresario Daniel Frohman, whose brother Charles served as manager until his death in 1915. Lyceum Theater opened on November 2, 1903 with the play The Proud Prince.
Among the prominent performers who appeared on its stage in the theatre's early years were Ethel Barrymore, Billie Burke, Basil Rathbone, Fanny Brice, Walter Huston, Miriam Hopkins, and Cornelia Otis Skinner.
The Lyceum Theater maintains most of its original Beaux-Arts design, including its elaborate marble staircases and undulating marquee. Although Lyceum Theater has three levels, Lyceum Theater is one of the smallest Broadway theatres in terms of capacity, seating only 950. An apartment located above the orchestra, originally used by Frohman, is now the headquarters of the Shubert Archives.

Famous past Lyceum Theater productions:
1903: The Admirable Crichton
1910: The Importance of Being Earnest
1910: The Assumption of Hannele
1935: Three Men on a Horse
1936: The Postman Always Rings Twice
1946: Born Yesterday
1950: The Country Girl
1952: Time Out For Ginger
1955: A Hatful of Rain
1957: Look Back in Anger
1960: A Taste of Honey
1965: Entertaining Mr. Sloane
1972: Liza with a Z
1973: Out Cry
1976: Something's Afoot
1980: Morning's at Seven
1982: Master Harold...and the Boys
1985: As Is
1995: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
1997: The Sunshine Boys
1999: Night Must Fall
2003: I Am My Own Wife
2005: Steel Magnolias
2007: Inherit the Wind; Is He Dead?
2008: Macbeth;
2009: reasons to be pretty
2009: In the Next Room (or The Vibrator Play) (Oct 2009-Jan 2010)
2010: Looped (Feb 2010-Apr 2010)
2010: The Scottsboro Boys (Oct 2010 - Dec 2010)
2011: Ghetto Klown (opens March 2011)