Central Harlem

Central Harlem, East 110th Street-155th Street, Park Avenue to St. Nick.
Central Harlem begins at 110th Street, at the northern boundary of Central Park; Spanish Harlem extends east of Harlem's boundaries south to 96th Street, while in the west it begins north of Upper West Side, which gives an irregular border west of Morningside Avenue. Central Harlem Harlem's boundaries have changed over the years.

The Central Harlem neighborhood contains a number of smaller, cohesive districts. The following are some Central Harlem examples:

* West Harlem (west of St. Nicholas Avenue and north of 123rd Street)
o Astor Row, centered on 130th Street
o Hamilton Heights, around the Hamilton Grange
o Sugar Hill
o Manhattanville, north of Morningside Heights
* Central Harlem
o Mount Morris, extending west from Marcus Garvey Park
o Strivers' Row, centered on 139th Street
* Spanish Harlem, also known as East Harlem or El Barrio (east of Fifth Avenue)

The New York City Police Department patrols five precincts located within Harlem. The areas of West Harlem are served by the 30th Precinct, the areas of Central Harlem are served by the 28th and 32nd Precincts, and the areas of East Harlem are served by the 23rd and 25th Precincts.

Harlem is represented by New York's 15th congressional district, the New York State Senate's 30th district, the New York State Assembly's 68th and 70th districts, and the New York City Council's 7th, 8th, and 9th districts.