Brooks Atkinson Theater

The Brooks Atkinson Theatre is a Broadway theater located at 256 West 47th Street in Manhattan.

View Larger Map
Designed by architect Herbert J. Krapp, it was constructed as the Mansfield Theatre by the Chanin brothers in 1926. After 1933, the theatre fell into relative disuse until 1945, when Michael Myerberg bought it and leased it to CBS for television productions. Known as CBS Studio 59, the theater played host to the long-running game show What's My Line?. In 1960, it was renamed after the former New York Times theater critic, Brooks Atkinson, and returned to legitimate use.
In 2000, the interior of the Brooks Atkinson Theater was refurbished with restored decorative finishes by EverGreene Architectural Arts, and now the Brooks Atkinson Theater is once again illuminated by the original chandelier that had been removed over 40 years ago. Brooks Atkinson Theater has 1,069 seats and is one of the Nederlander Organization's nine Broadway houses.
The revival of Grease recently played at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre. The show featured Max Crumm as Danny Zuko and Laura Osnes as Sandy Dumbrowski. who were the winners of the 2006-2007 reality TV show Grease: You're the One that I Want which selected a new Danny and Sandy for the revival through a massive nationwide casting call.
The Brooks Atkinson Theater is currently home to Rock of Ages, starring Joey Taranto as Drew Bowie and Emily Padgett as Sherrie Christian. The New York production of Rock of Ages first began performances at the New World Stages in the fall of 2008, officially opening on Broadway at the Brooks Atkinson on April 7, 2009.
"Rock of Ages" will play its final performance at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre on January 9th before moving to the Helen Hayes Theatre. On February 8, 2011, RAIN - A Tribute to The Beatles will move to the Brooks Atkinson Theatre from the Neil Simon Theatre.
Productions since January 1, 2000

Famous past productions pre-2000:
Shuffle Along (1932)
Juno and the Paycock (1940 revival)
The Cradle Will Rock (1947 revival)
Come Blow Your Horn (1961)
Something More! (1964)
A Day in the Death of Joe Egg (1968)
Lovers and Other Strangers (1968)
Charley's Aunt (1970 revival)
Lenny (1971)
My Fat Friend (1974)
Same Time, Next Year (1975)
Tribute (1978)
Talley's Folly (1980)
Lolita (1981 Edward Albee adaptation)
Beyond Therapy (1982)
Noises Off (original 1983 production)
Aren't We All? (4/29/1985 - 7/21/1985)
Benefactors (1985)
Jackie Mason's The World According to Me! (1988)
The Cemetery Club (1990)
Shadowlands (1990)
Death and the Maiden (1992)
She Loves Me (1993 revival)
Wait Until Dark (1998 revival)
The Iceman Cometh (1999 revival)